So the Koala is a Texas Native?

Finally Friday! Yes, Friday! Yessssssbut I’m still working, so it’s not the weekend yet. However my Flaming Lips Spotify station is keeping me really pleased on this fine, rainy day.

This has been a week of sitting on my butt, and I’ve hated it. I’m finally back in my own home office, with my stand up desk so I’m feeling much better. I’m a person who really likes to be in my own zone so when I’m away from this, I’m on the defensive. Not cool.

However, I did get to cox a boat this week which is one two-hour span that I didn’t mind sitting on my butt, mostly because I got to boss a whole boat around!

Night Rowing

Night Rowing

Night Coaching

Night Coaching

These were my views for the evening and those are my bare feet in the boat. It was such a nice night for a row, good and cold. And it has great views of Austin at night.

Nice night for a row

Nice night for a row

Beautiful, right? And this is in NOVEMBER that they’re all out here sweating and rowing in shorts and a t-shirt.

I was lucky enough, however, to get the chance to row early the next morning. Here are the first pics I took as we were getting off the water.

Foggy Morning

Foggy Morning

Foggy Day

Foggy Day

Then I realized that my phone was in my bra during the row (have to keep it safe!!) and then I cleaned the lens.

Not that foggy after all, whoops.

Not that foggy after all, whoops.

HAHAHA! Yeah, maybe I should clean it off before I start taking pictures. Anyway, it was a good row and I even had enough time to get to my breakfast meeting where I saw this **STUNNING** piece of art.

Longhorn

Longhorn

But I was a bit perplexed by this piece of AMAZING.

Why so sad Koala?

Why so sad Koala?

Austin looked at this and thought it looked like the saddest Koala he’d ever seen. The cracked me up as it was in your average greasy spoon diner here in Austin. It made my morning.

That evening Austin and I went to a dinner put together by Michelle Norris, founder of

Paleo f(x)β„’Β !

We were so excited to be there for the Russian Paleo dinner she prepared that we both wore red to the dinner.

photo 1 (1)

The dinner was a great chance to hang out with friends and eat some great food. It’s always nice to see our paleo friends in a nice setting, and it’s always good to eat good food.

The dinner was great and we a had a choice of Russian or Spanish inspired cuisine. Here’s the menu from the Russian (paleo) selections:

Russian Menu

Russian Menu

I loved the lamb, it was one of my favorite dishes but you’ll have to imagine it because I still don’t like taking pictures of my food unless it’s amazing…or still alive.

 Photo curtesy of www.erikschimek.com

Photo courtesy of http://www.erikschimek.com

Here’s a great picture of the lovely couple. Keith and Michelle Norris. So happy to be a part of her special evening.

Then work, work, work took over and I found myself at Friday already. Austin had an early showing so I took Whiskey along with me during my sprints. Kill two birds with one stone, wear out the dog and get my workout in!

What's that?

What’s that?

What’s that though? There’s something on the trail!

Zombie Dog

Zombie Dog

Zombie Whiskey sees trouble at the crossing. The water here is actually moving really fast and it’s much deeper than it looks. So we kept running on a different trail and after I was done with my sprints we just walked for the rest of the journey, it was a great (cold) morning in Austin!

Good Morning Sprints

Good Morning Sprints

My big, beautiful face agrees. Note: My earbuds were essential in helping me with my sprints. I have a great app. that beeps different tones to tell me when to start, when to stop and when I’ve completed all of my sprints. It’s called Interval Timer and I really like it!

So that’s my day! I’ve been working all day and I’m just about to hit the store with Austin and hopefully take our wussy dog on a walk (she hates the rain). But today wasn’t totally devoid of all activity (save the sprints), while I took a short break from work today I did a little workout from Tina at Carrots&Cake!

Dead_Man_Walking_WOD_from_CrossFit_781

Because I don’t have a rowing machine I just did a minute of jumping jacks. This was a great way to beat the afternoon blahs. Although when it’s cold and rainy I LOVE working at home. It’s been a great day for me. I hope the weekend proves to be just as good πŸ™‚

One thought on “So the Koala is a Texas Native?

Leave a Reply

