Boston (Day 4 and 5)

The day had finally come. I was going to volunteer. This was it. This was the day. I had to be up at 5am to try and hitch a ride with some of the Umpires  so I could be at my dock by 7am. It worked and I got in a nice little walk on my way to my post. I snapped a few of my favorite shots of the whole weekend. IMG_3957 IMG_3963 IMG_3961

I made my way to dock 4 and helped singles (Sculls) into the water before their race. IMG_3971 IMG_3972

The volunteer head was very generous in allowing me to take an hour off before my shift started so I could have one final cup of coffee with my sister. I already miss her and It’s only been a week.

Dunkin Donuts

Dunkin Donuts

Then I got back to the job of dock-mastering. And I looked great doing it.

IMG_3980 IMG_3981 IMG_3982 IMG_3984 IMG_3986

It was actually cold there. All weekend. I miss that so much as I stand here reminiscing about Boston in the 80+ heat of Austin. It’s almost NOVEMBER for Pete’s sake!! Enough TEXAS!!

Sorry, I just had to get that out. Anyway, I finished my shift and Amy and I walked to our friends outpost at the other end of the river so we got the chance to watch a few races go by before we arrived at the other boathouse. IMG_4090 IMG_4106

Somehow Leanne always winds up with the cops. At least they’re always cute. And this one had a boat!

IMG_3991 IMG_3993 IMG_3998 IMG_4001 IMG_4007 IMG_4009We hung out at one boathouse and then I traveled up to the DeWolfe Boathouse so I could pick up a friends sweater. It was a long walk but totally worth it to see inside.

After everyone was done we trucked it back to the hotel and decided to go to an Italian dinner. Not the best option for us Paleo peep but we made do with mounds of meat and salads. I was really sick of salads by the end of this weekend though. I lost a few pounds of food while I was there. Not fat, not weight, just food.

We were joined by some interesting people. Needless to say they inspired a lot of interest among my friends. (And Pictures)IMG_4101

But we had a friend of Dan’s come along as well, his name was Dan too. Dan’s Dan was great and the rest of us had a ball.

Amy drove, because she’s a rockstar and also her car is a death-trap.

IMG_4098 IMG_4097

ANNNNNNYWAY, back on Track. We had to say Good-Bye to Dan in the early AM but that gave the rest of us a chance to go to a real breakfast! Yayy for food and not just hard-cooked-eggs every day!

IMG_4046

Although there were pancakes.

Although there were pancakes.

Then we trucked through Harvard one last time before heading to the airport. IMG_4049 IMG_4076 IMG_4059 IMG_4058 IMG_4057 IMG_4054 IMG_4052IMG_4103 IMG_4102So in leaving Boston I have no regrets but a few goals:

1 Sing the National Anthem next year for the HOCR

2. Row in the HOCR

3. Stay in a different hotel

You were great Boston, but the people I met were greater.

IMG_4085

One thought on “Boston (Day 4 and 5)

  1. if you sing, I’ll be there and so will daddy. he’ll be the one in the back of the crowd, weeping softly out of pride…….. oh papa !

Leave a Reply

