LA BARBECUE, finally.

We have been wanting to try out La Barbecue for months now. All of our friends have gone, sent pictures, made us drool and made us want it. It is one of the hottest new joints in Austin and it’s still out of a food truck. Most places, once they get big, move up to a brick-and-mortar location. Hopefully these guys get good enough to make that change.

Not too long of a line.

Not too long of a line.

The Menu.

The Menu.

There are places like Franklin BBQ (Not Franklin’s BBQ, it’s not possessive, it’s just Franklin) and others that have lines for HOURS long. Austin and I did that once and it was good BBQ, but it was not the best I’ve had.

The smell before we got up the truck was intoxicating. As is true of most Barbecue.

My pre-pork face

My pre-pork face

Austin's pre-pork face

Austin’s pre-pork face

Whiskey wants some Cue'

Whiskey wants some Cue’

La Barbecue now holds my heart for favorite brisket. We only tried two meats because we weren’t terribly hungry. We got a pound of brisket (mixture of moist, lean and in-between) and a pound of pork ribs which are generally my favorite.

The weather today is perfect, light breeze sending the smells our way. The temp has finally dropped here in Austin and it makes me think we could stay here for a few months more. I think I’ll survive through these next few seasons as long as we figure something out for the impending summer. **Shudder**

While we waited in line, I walked Whiskey around the back to see where the magic happens. Austin grabbed a free beer from their kegs that you can sip while you wait. This place is a sort of heaven for Texans.

Bringing the flames

Bringing the flames

Inside their row of cookers/smokers? things?

Inside their row of cookers/smokers? things?

The hot, hot heat.

The hot, hot heat.

Tender Belly! Repping the CO.

Tender Belly! Repping the CO.

We took it home and plated it up. It looks like BBQ people, no picture needed. They offer lots of sides but most BBQ sides have lots of sugar so we (read me) generally avoid them. I think if Austin was there alone he might have come home with some of their home-cooked sides.

TASTE TEST TIME!

The taste of the brisket was smoky and light, not too heavy on the smoke and the spices were right. The salt was there in just the right amount and the pepper was not overwhelming as it is in MANY Cue’ joints.

The Ribs were good but sweet. I usually like a more vinegar based rib rub. Austin loved the ribs and I like chewing the marrow out of the bones 🙂 I’m a savage.

All in all I think we have a new good BBQ location. It’s not the closest to us but they use quality meat, good rubs and great ingredients. I chatted with Ali of La Barbecue on Twitter to see if this place would be able to handle one of our Paleo Meet-Up groups. I think this will be a party that will happen soon.

Leave a Reply

