Boston (Head of the Charles Regatta) Sounds Fancy! Day 1

Well, let me tell you, it was totally fancy, and more fun than I could ever imagine. I headed out early on Thursday morning and Whiskey did not like the idea that I was leaving again.

This is her raspberry face.

This is her raspberry face.

Still, I had to leave, and leave I did. Man, oh, man! If I ever take the trip to Boston from Austin I’m going to find a direct flight. My flight into Houston was just fine, but it was 45 mins late, leaving me 4 minutes to make it across the terminal to make my flight to Boston! I made this freak-out face.

IMG_3801

Me freaking out!!!

Me freaking out!!!

However, the other sprinters, and myself, made the plane! Also, we were greeted on the plane by a bitchin’ tail wind that got us there an hour earlier than planned! Yay for not taking new public transportation in the dark.

The downside of all of this was that I had to leave Austin alone for most of his birthday. Boo. I’m sorry hun. But he did have a few parties, two cakes and lots of friends around him so I think he’ll survive.

IMG_3814

Fuzzy, but cute.

My first day in Boston I went down to the Charles, grabbing a cup of coffee along the way at this great little place called Hi-Rise.IMG_3817 IMG_3816 IMG_3815 IMG_3813

Hi-Rise

Hi-Rise

On the way down I got a great taste of Boston life. By the way, they have SO. MANY. PLAYGROUNDS.

IMG_3803

Loveable dog that watched children for 20 minutes.

IMG_3808

Beautiful parks.

IMG_3802

Right before they made it into the WORLD SERIES!

IMG_3801

Even the steps are beautiful here

I finally made it to the Charles after an hour-long saunter around Harvard Square and I took  a selfie or two and saw the crews practicing! Finally, I feel like I’ve found my people.

IMG_3819

Required Selfie at the Charles

IMG_3853

Mr. John Harvard, so regal and his pretty shoes shine! Yes, I touched the toe.

IMG_3858

Harvard

IMG_3845

Row!

IMG_3837

Practice Time!

IMG_3840

So many trucks. So many boats. So many College men.

IMG_3848

It’s so Autumnal

IMG_3832

View from the Cambridge boathouse.

IMG_3822

Peeking inside the Harvard Boathouse.

IMG_3825

This was just one day! And I didn’t even get to spend the whole day in Boston. I haven’t traveled by myself in a long time, and while it makes the actual plane travel easier it’s very lonely. It’s nice to not have to adhere to others schedules and to-do lists but I’m finding out I really do love having a focus for my travel or traveling with friends or Austin.

I used to travel by myself all the time when I was younger but now, or at least on this trip, I really enjoyed talking to friends when I had them there. Maybe I’ve lost a bit of my independence, or maybe I just need to learn how to travel on my own again.

I feel like if I would have been volunteering or working on that first day I would have been fine, but now I know that I need a focus, something to work on. I have wanted to be a part of something bigger for a while and getting the chance to volunteer for the Head of the Charles was just what I was looking for.

This is just day 1~ Get ready for the fun to begin on Day 2.

 

Leave a Reply

