The Best Week Yet aka Two weddings and an Anniversary

Whew! What an amazing week it’s been. It was an amazing love sandwich, one older love sandwiched by two new loves.

Friday of last week was the wedding of two of our dear friends: Andy and Nicole.

Yummy desserts made by hand.

Yummy desserts made by hand.

Austin's Faux-tie. It's a long tie made into a bow-tie.

Austin’s Faux-tie. It’s a long tie made into a bow-tie.

Andy and Nicole's wedding!

Andy and Nicole’s wedding!

Us at the wedding :)

Us at the wedding πŸ™‚

Part of a Texas cheese tray. Mostly eaten.

Part of a Texas cheese tray. Mostly eaten.

 

Then after a day of prep and a long night of partying we had to be up EXTRA early to get to the airport the next morning for a flight to DENVER! I love Denver, it’s not my hometown but it’s where I was raised and I will always consider it home.

Austin and I at the airport! Bye Austin, TX!

Austin and I at the airport! Bye Austin, TX!

We had to leave our little Whiskey dog at home in Austin, with friends, and they sent us this sweet image of her first day without us.

Whiskey alone for the first time...sad dog.

Whiskey alone for the first time…sad dog.

The next day we were up early again to have brunch with some friends while Austin went off on his own for a while.

Natasha and Meredith are friends of mine from Hit and Run Musical Improv. I started in the group with them four? years ago! I love them both for different reasons but they both tell it like it is and I value that, I REALLY value that. Also, they add just the right amount of snark to our bruches.

Might be my favorite pic from the trip.

Might be my favorite pic from the trip.

Nice pic. Good friends

Nice pic. Good friends

Monday was our 2nd anniversary and Austin surprised me with a trip to Boulder and an overnight stay at the St. Julien Hotel. I love hotels. I really love them. I love not making the bed and I love everything clean and the new pools and gyms and new sights and flowers and this hotel was sublime. They had robes, I will live in a fluffy hotel robe whenever I can. And I did. I’m surprised there are no pictures of me in Said robe because when I was in the room there I was in that robe.

We had a lunch on the porch at the Boulder Cafe. Good little salad and then we went shopping on the famous Pearl St. in Boulder. Now it’s full of hipsters and students as CU is now back in session.

He's like a cat sunning himself.

He’s like a cat sunning himself.

Not me. I like the water.

Not me. I like the water.

A kinda smile.

A kinda smile.

He looks like a bottle koozie.

He looks like a bottle koozie.

We had a great dinner at SALT in Boulder. It lived up to its name but it was a bit too pricey for what we were served. There was no delineation that the items were local or organic, both of which I’ll pony up more for.

The next day we headed back to Denver and both Austin and I had to work all week so in the down time we got to visit with so. many. friends.

Austin, Janece, Ching and me!

Austin, Janece, Ching and me!

Us all again.

Us all again.

Our first hand drawn anniversary card...ever!!

Our first hand drawn anniversary card…ever!!

Friends from dinner!

Friends from dinner!

Talitha, one of our old acting friends gave us a great hand-made card she drew for us! It looks just like us, see?!

I finally got my hair done. I hated the stupid stripes in my hair so I went to Kristen at Mantra salon and she made me look like me again.

Here’s the before and after.

My highlights before they die!

My highlights before they die!

Awesome hair now. I love Kristen, my stylist.

Awesome hair now. I love Kristen, my stylist.

Then we had the 2nd’ wedding at the end of our stay. Kelly and Phil got married at Red Rocks and it was beautiful! There were more friends, good food and a huge brass band!

THIS is us.

THIS is us.

A good pre-wedding pic 2.

A good pre-wedding pic 2.

BEAUTIFUL RED ROCKS! Great place for a wedding.

BEAUTIFUL RED ROCKS! Great place for a wedding.

Before the big reception we had to charge up with the terrible 5 hour energy.

 

He agrees.

He agrees.

 

Super gross.

Super gross.

 

Gross, I needed a five hour energy.

Gross, I needed a five hour energy.


WTF Pink fountain.

WTF Pink fountain.

I won’t get into why I don’t care for all of the PINK references and breast cancer awareness here. Let’s just say this was a stupid fountain made to look really gross.

Meredith is a wonderful person.

Meredith is a wonderful person.

Steve, me, Austin, Mere, and Chris?! Yes, all together in one shot!

Steve, me, Austin, Mere, and Chris?! Yes, all together in one shot!

Chris, me and Mere. Love them. So much love.

Chris, me and Mere. Love them. So much love.

Love her more

Love her more

Still love her

Still love her

Couple #2! Phil and Kelly Watt :)

Couple #2! Phil and Kelly Watt πŸ™‚

Then we flew home and I had an AMAZING GIFT in the mail. But now I’m done with this post and I’m feeling pretty accomplished. So I’ll leave you with this great trip bookended by love.

Leave a Reply

