Wrung out like a rag

“It doesn’t matter where you are or what you’re doing,

you just need to keep moving forward.”

This was the mantra that was the focus of our class on Friday at Vino and Vinyasa at Lululemon. I had a hard practice, it was slow and difficult but the woman next to me was like a swan. Every move was so fluid, so natural it made me realize why I go to all types of classes. Some classes I am the model student, able to to everything and more than the teacher. Then there are Lululemon classes where I’m struggling to get past Warrior I without falling on my butt, or side, or head.

Anyway,  back to the mantra. I kept thinking about that in relation to my life and the lives of those around me. I can tell, prod, poke and cajole the people around me to take life by the reigns and steer it where they wish but doing that myself, as for many other people, is so much more difficult. Just the act of moving, staying in motion, but not just random vibrations, the act of moving forward seems nearly impossible.

Right now I’m at a time in my life where I feel like a plane, about ready to take off but stuck in a holding pattern. All fueled up, passengers on board, anticipation for the flight…and no take-off is permitted. Just waiting. While I wait I think about all the things I want to be doing: getting a career I love, being a mermaid, getting in better shape for my wedding/rest of my life, being more mindful, being present, enjoying life, and so on.  Just as all of this is about to overwhelm me I am reminded of a binding pose or a twisting post in yoga. A pose that allows you to squeeze all negative thoughts out like dirty water from a rag.

Twisting pose

There is something wonderful about coming out of a pose like the one above. You feel more relaxed, more bendy and generally cleaner. I feel like some negative muck gets removed with a good twisting pose.

I have a lot I want to remove from my life but I also have a lot more to be thankful for. For instance, even though I didn’t get the mermaid job the first time around doesn’t mean they won’t call back when they said they would. I’m told I’m the first on their list for hiring in the beginning of Oct. And I do think it’s better to be only working one or two jobs when moving into a new location.

This just in: Ann and Austin find a really cute new place!

In otherwords, I’m not sure how twisting and moving in a forward position fit together in this blog but they do somehow, trust me, it’s 2 a.m. how could anything not make sense at this hour.

Good night all, or good morning!

Leave a Reply

