Put a Cork in it

Upon finding the car we made our way to our second day of gigs in Carigline. The library venue was superb, we had a wonderful teachers lounge as our green room and there was even a monitor on the performance area so we didn’t have to scare the children if we needed to make an entrance.

Ready for the show??

See our spacious room?

Then the other clown shoe dropped. We found out our contact, Sinead, had not been quite upfront about the whole payment issue. She had been dodging the question for quite some time. We were lucky enough to have an amazing adversary in one of the women, Liz, at the library.  Just to give you some idea of how much fun these ladies have…take a look at this sign on their door.

Library time!! Fun time!!

Also, there was this sign located in the tiny hall of a lounge.
Because 634.80 would be obscene.
Once we had that sorted out Austin and I bolted to Cashel after a short, but unsuccessful search for a running jacket in Cork. We needed a day off so we took to the town that my parents spent some of their honeymoon in the seventies. It is a beautiful town, very small, but beautiful. We checked into Ladyswell B&B in upper Cashel, a very quaint (aren’t they all?) B&B run by Beatrice and Rory (her very thick Irish Setter. We ordered our breakfast so it would be ready for us in the morning. I had the full Irish breakfast, um…hello blood pudding! and Austin had the blueberry pancakes. I thought they were a little doughy but he liked them, and that’s all that matters.We toured the castle after breakfast and found a Flynn gravestone and some really fun pictures. Check these out Mum!!

It's the stairway from the opposite side

Before breakfast I went on a run up to the castle in Cashel and all around the small town. I ran by sheep, cows, tractors, castles, and towers. Rough life, I know. We were able to shop around a while longer in Cashel and then we moved onto the road back to Athlone after a breif lunch at The Bakery House, a nice little place I had breakfast on my last trip in Cashel.

I know where we're going

Flynn Gravestone

Back in Athlone I had a very unsuccessful trip to the Post office to pick up my package from USA. Booo mail. Yay back in Athlone!

Upon finding the car we made our way to our second day of gigs in Carigline. The library venue was superb, we had a wonderful teachers lounge as our green room and there was even a monitor on the performance area so we didn’t have to scare the children if we needed to make an entrance.

Then the other clown shoe dropped. We found out our contact, Sinead, had not been quite upfront about the whole payment issue. She had been dodging the question for quite some time. We were lucky enough to have an amazing adversary in one of the women, Liz, at the library.

Once we had that sorted out Austin and I bolted to Cashel after a short, but unsuccessful search for a running jacket in Cork. We needed a day off so we took to the town that my parents spent some of their honeymoon in the seventies. It is a beautiful town, very small, but beautiful. We checked into Ladyswell B&B in upper Cashel, a very quaint (aren’t they all?) B&B run by Beatrice and Rory (her very thick Irish Setter. We ordered our breakfast so it would be ready for us in the morning. I had the full Irish breakfast, um…hello blood pudding! and Austin had the blueberry pancakes. I thought they were a little doughy but he liked them, and that’s all that matters.We toured the castle after breakfast and found a Flynn gravestone and some really fun pictures. Check these out Mum!!

Before breakfast I went on a run up to the castle in Cashel and all around the small town. I ran by sheep, cows, tractors, castles, and towers. Rough life, I know. We were able to shop around a while longer in Cashel and then we moved onto the road back to Athlone after a breif lunch at The Bakery House, a nice little place I had breakfast on my last trip in Cashel.

Back in Athlone I had a very unsuccessful trip to the Post office to pick up my package from USA. Booo mail. Yay back in Athlone!

Dinner tonight it boring compared to all of our other fun meals. Pictures soon now that we’re back!

2 thoughts on “Put a Cork in it

  1. USPS to Athlone must be awful. if you haven’t seen your package yet I doubt it will show up at all now. they have either misdirected it or the address was written incorrectly. sorry to say, it’s probably permanently MIA. thanks for bidding my Cashel a fond farewell, it’s ever dear to my heart.

Leave a Reply

